What is Mississippi’s Alcohol Safety Education Program?

Posted by James Ferguson | Oct 31, 2017 | 0 Comments

The Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program (MASEP) is a statewide, mandatory DUI intervention program. Mississippi state law requires anyone convicted of a first offense DUI attend MASEP or another approved program within six months of adjudication. The goal of the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program is to improve highway safety by reducing recidivism among first-time DUI offenders. MASEP is not intended to be a punishment; it is designed to increase understanding of traffic safety and alcohol and drug abuse. This post answers some frequently asked questions about this program.

How Long Does it Take to Complete MASEP?

The Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program is a four-week session. The classes are three hours long and take place once a week, for a total of 12 hours of education. The classes include group discussion, homework assignments, reading materials, and in-class lectures and exercises. MASEP will also provide you with a list of resources for treating alcohol and drug addiction. The MASEP program has inspired many people to seek further treatment for their alcohol dependency.

How Much Will it Cost Me?

The Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program costs $200 to attend. It must be paid in full by the first session. Personal checks and money orders are accepted; cash is not. Once the program is completed, you will need $175 to pay the reinstatement fee to regain your driver's license.

How do I Enroll in MASEP?

Your court order will contain the details for your Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program session. The judge will select a location, date, and time for you to attend the program. Although you have six months after conviction to complete the program, you are expected to enroll and attend the session listed on your court order. However, if there is a conflict, call the number for MASEP on your court order. Remember to bring the court order with you to your first class.

What Happens if I Do Not Complete the Program?

You could be held in contempt of court for not completing the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program within six months of your first DUI conviction. Additionally, your driver's license will be withheld from you until you can present a copy of the MASEP completion certificate and the reinstatement fee is paid.

What if I Live Out of State or Far Away?

There are dozens of locations offered throughout the state of Mississippi. If you live in-state, you must attend MASEP in Mississippi. However, if you live out of state, you can call the number listed on your court order to request approval to take an equivalent program in another state.

Need Legal Help? Call a Mississippi DUI Attorney

If you were charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Mississippi, reach out to an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. James Robert Ferguson has devoted his entire career to defending and protecting the rights of individuals charged with DUI. Call him at (901) 318-3847 to request a free and confidential consultation.

About the Author

James Ferguson

I was born and raised in Memphis, Tennessee. During college, I studied at East Tennessee State University, where I received a Bachelor's in Criminal Justice, which I then followed up with a Master's in Criminology from the University of Memphis. Before beginning my legal career, I worked as a Project Coordinator at the University of Memphis, where I assisted in training law enforcement officers in the Memphis Model of Crisis Intervention Training. The purpose of the project was to provide officers with the tools to deal with citizens in a state of mental crisis. I then went on to study law at the Mississippi College School of Law in Jackson. During law school, I clerked with Victor W. Carmody, Jr., the lawyer who wrote the book on DUI law in Mississippi. I am currently licensed to practice law in both Tennessee and Mississippi, and spend a majority of my time traveling the highways and biways of Mississippi defending those who have been charged with a DUI.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Free Consultations

Please contact me anytime to discuss your case. I understand that you will have many questions about your DUI, and I will guide you through answers to the questions that you have and those that you haven't thought of. My goal is to make you comfortable with the defense process. Every case is prepared for trial, but a trial is not always necessary. Consultations are always free and confidential.

Someone on your side

Being charged with a crime is intimidating. Beyond the fear of jail, court costs, and fines, there are questions as to the impact on your job and your right to drive. Rest assured that I will be there every step of the way to guide you through the process, and to help you minimize the impact of a DUI on your life. Call me today.

Menu